Is Landau's book on QM suitable for undergraduates?

In summary,This conversation is about a person's first course in quantum mechanics, and whether or not Landau's book is a good choice for that course. The person says that they want to learn physics with a lot of intuition, but they don't want to sacrifice their understanding of the mathematics. They say that Landau's book is good in that it has introductory material that can be read without needing to understand the mathematics, but they also suggest other books that are more suited for someone who wants to understand the mathematics in depth.
Joker93
Hello,i am just starting to learn Quantum Mechanics in the university at an underdrad level. I know there are a lot of great introductory books out there but i just saw that Landau's book on non-relativistic quantum mechanics has great reviews but upon seeing it,i was overwhelmed by the mathematical rigor of the book.Now,this is a good thing but it could be bad also.I don't want to struggle with difficult maths and to sacrifice my physical understanding.
So it all comes down to whether this book is suited for undergraduate students or just graduate students.
So,what do you think?

Physics news on Phys.org
So you never took QM before? Then Landau is not suitable at all.

Landau's remarks on interpretation are very valuable, so one can just read the English and skip the maths on first pass. You can use some other book for the maths, like French and Taylor, Griffths, or Sakurai.

Likes vanhees71
micromass said:
So you never took QM before? Then Landau is not suitable at all.
No,this is my first course on QM.I want to learn physics with a lot of intuition but also i want to learn the full mathematics behind each subject.What i am thinking is that it may be too much at this time

atyy said: