Measuring the thickness of a thin film of bismuth for Hall Effect experiment.

In summary, the conversation is about an investigation into the preparation of thin films and their use in Hall Effect measurements. They are making thin films of bismuth on glass in a vacuum system and are discussing methods for measuring the thickness of the film. One suggestion is to measure the mass of the film, but they note that the scales may not be accurate. Another method is to measure the resistance of a rectangular or square segment of bismuth, but they are unsure how to do this practically since the film is not a regular shape. Other possible methods include using finite element analysis or measuring the inductance of a coil next to the film using AC frequencies. The latter method could provide a precision of 1% with just an oscillos
adwodon
Hello there,
I'm an undergrad in my 3rd year and I'm doing an investigation into the 'Preparation of Thin Films and their use in Hall Effect measurements.'

We are making thin films of bismuth on glass (with pre drilled terminals) in a vacuum system.

The way they suggest measuring the thickness is by measuring the mass of the film, although they are quick to point out that the scales arent the most accurate and will only give a very rough approximation.

One way I know read would work would be to have a rectangular / square segment of bismuth and measure its resistance, although I am not entirely sure how to go about this from a practical perspective as the shape of the bismuth film isn't rectangular, is it possible to do this for any shape provided you can easily calculate the area?