Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Pulling a piston

1. Aug 22, 2011 #1
    Hi, I'm studying thermodynamics and I got a question, it's not a homework or anything, it simply isn't covered in my book and it got me thinking
    I know that if I have cylinder filled with gas, with a piston on top and there are weights on it maintaining an equilibrium if I remove the weights slowly the gas will expand doing work on the surroundings.
    After all the gas molecules will be hitting the piston wall, and as the gas pressure is higher than the external pressure it will expand.

But what if I have a gas cylinder at let's say 1atm, with an external pressure of 1 atm, at equilibrium. No weights on it.
    Let's say I pull the piston, I grab it with my hand and pull it.
    What will happen?
    At first I thought, ok, it will just do expansion work, reversible if I do it slowly, irreversible if I do it quickly...
    But then I thought, no that isn't possible, the gas is not doing any work, it's not like with the weights where the only upward force is caused by the gas molecules, now I'm actually pulling the piston.
    But my book says that if a gas expands against any moveable surface it's doing work...

Could somebody help me?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 22, 2011 #2

xts

Grab a plastic syringe and try!
    Then compare your first thoughts with an experiment.
    And ask again who (you or gas?) is doing a work (or more work...).

4. Aug 22, 2011 #3
    Well I tried that lol
    Yes, it seems like I'm doing a good amount of work, but isn't the gas doing anything? Maybe something I can't detect with such crude experiment

5. Aug 22, 2011 #4

K^2

Science Advisor

Start with plunger all the way down. Plug hole and pull. Now start with some air in the cylinder. Plug hole and pull. Which is easier? Does that explain why gas is still doing work?

6. Aug 22, 2011 #5