Relativity Books: Advanced Reads for Engineering Student

In summary, the books mentioned above are all good starting points for someone interested in learning about general relativity.
Andrewjh07
Hi all, I am an engineering student that happened to buy a book by Brian Cox called "Why does e=mc^2". Well, after reading it I now have the desire to get my minor in physics. My question for you all is, this book I read was a very beginners guide to relativity, are there any books you would recommend that are slightly more "advanced" than beginner book? Id like to keep reading up on special relativity, as it is a lot more interesting than a lot of stuff I normally study!

Physics news on Phys.org
For SR, I like Taylor and Wheeler, Spacetime Physics. For GR, the following FAQ may help.

FAQ: I want to learn about general relativity. What books should I start with?

The following is a list of books that I would recommend, sorted by the level of presentation. I've omitted many excellent popular-level books that aren't broad introductions to GR, as well as classic books like Wald and MTW that are now many decades out of date. Before diving into any of the GR books that are aimed at physics students, I would suggest preparing yourself by reading a good textbook on SR such as Taylor and Wheeler, "Spacetime Physics."

Books using only algebra, trig, and geometry:

Gardner, "Relativity Simply Explained"

Einstein, "Relativity: The Special and General Theory ," http://etext.virginia.edu/toc/modeng/public/EinRela.html

Geroch, "General Relativity from A to B"

Will, "Was Einstein Right?"

Books assuming a lower-division university background in math and physics:

Taylor and Wheeler, "Exploring Black Holes: Introduction to General Relativity"

Hartle, "Gravity: An Introduction to Einstein's General Relativity"

Rindler, "Relativity: Special, General, and Cosmological"

Books for grad students in physics: