Simple reasoning that the equivalence principle suggests curvature

In summary, Dale wrote a helpful article that discusses how to introduce students to the concepts of general relativity. He suggests using simple examples that connect the principles of the equivalence principle and curvature of spacetime. In this example, the student is looking for an example of spacetime curvature that is easy to understand. Every book that the student has read talks about light going up a gravity well, the Pound-Rebka experiment. This experiment was not testing the equivalence principle. It was testing gravitational time dilation. There is a relationship between the two, but I don't think it's what you think it is.
luinthoron
TL;DR Summary
I am looking for simple examples showing that the equivalence principle implies or at least suggests spacetime curvature (i. e. nonvanishing nonconstant components of the metric tensor).
I am a high-school teacher and a PhD. student. I am looking for ways to introduce my students to GR. In my treatment, I speak about the equivalence principle and later about curvature in general and consequently that of spacetime. I am missing a connection of these two parts that would be understandable to a high-schooler. Every book that I found talks about light going up a gravity well, the Pound-Rebka experiment. That is all fine, but I don't like that light is now, in my opinion, unnecessarily involved. I would like a simple dynamic example that would show that equivalence principle implies that the spacetime interval (which my students know from Special Relativity) now contains nonvanishing nonconstant coefficients like on a curved surface. I have been trying some examples with a falling observer flying near two stationary observers in a gravitational field but I can't get the reasoning right. I also don't want to use the common argument about some general coordinate transformation from the Local Inertial Frame to a general one, as that would be, again in