Solving Electric Fields with Gauss's Law: Doubts and Calculations

In summary, the conversation revolved around using Gauss's Law to calculate the electric field between, above, and below two large parallel conducting plates with different charge densities. The individual explained their approach, which involved creating a gaussian surface and using Gauss's Law to find the electric field. They expressed doubt in their calculations and asked for clarification on the correct placement of the gaussian surface and the inclusion of certain charge densities. They also sought confirmation on the direction of the electric field between the plates. The other person suggested drawing a diagram and considering the net charge enclosed by the gaussian surface to justify the absence of charge in the bulk of a conductor.
Saketh
Hello, everyone. I have a problem that I solved using Gauss's Law. However, I am unconfident in my answers, as I have very little experience with Gauss's Law.

The surfaces of two large (i.e. infinite) parallel conducting plates have charge densities as follows: [tex]\sigma_1[/tex] on the top of the top plate; [tex]-\sigma_2[/tex] on the bottom of the top plate; [tex]\sigma_2[/tex] on the top of the bottom plate; [tex]-\sigma_1[/tex] on the bottom of the bottom plate; [tex]\sigma_1 > \sigma_2[/tex]. Use Gauss's law and symmetry to calculate the electric field below, between, and above the plates.​
Here's how I did it:
I made a gaussian surface - a cylinder that cut through both of the plates with radius [tex]r[/tex] - in order to find the electric field above and below the plates. Then, I used Gauss's law:
[tex]\oint \vec{E}\cdot \,d\vec{A} = E\oint \,dA = \frac{q_{inside}}{\epsilon_0}[/tex].
This is the part that I doubt myself:
[tex]E(\pi r^2 + \pi r^2) = \frac{\pi r^2(\sigma_1 - \sigma_2 + \sigma_2 - \sigma_1)}{\epsilon_0} = 0[/tex]