How to Calculate Voltage Drop in a Circuit

In summary, a high school student is seeking help from senior members for their electrical engineering studies during summer break. They are currently studying from a book and have no teacher or tutor. The student is looking for assistance with a specific question about inductors and has attached their workings for review. One member suggests that the inductor value in the question is unrealistic and offers advice on approaching the problem.
peavey_wolfgang_2000
Hello Everyone, I am a High school student who would like for some of the senior members to take look at some of my workings and maybe help me out when I run into trouble.

I am presently out of school for the summer, 2 more years of high school, left where I hop to go to University to become an electrical Engineer...So I have picked up a Electrical Book at our local libary, and am doing the review questions, I have no Teacher or tutor, and am doing this on my own...I am a very strong understanding of this subject but I love to learn what I can...and the better I understand this the better i will do in University...Anyhow here is my question

Please download the attachment with my workings!

Thnaks Wolf

Attachments

• Question #2.doc
    22 KB · Views: 217
Physics news on Phys.org
It would be very helpful if you posted a specific question in the thread, rather than referring people to a Word document.

- Warren

I don't know where you got that question from, but you are not going to be working with an inductor with a value of thousands of Henries. Practical inductances range from nH to mH, with big ones in the 100mH range. Does this problem represent a real-word problem with something like a giant electromagnet in a plasma confinement system or something? BTW, it looked like you were using the correct approach to figure out the answer.