Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Automatic Load Frequency Control in power system

1. Nov 15, 2016 #1

cnh1995

Homework Helper

I am studying ALFC and I have a few questions about it.
    unnamed.jpg
    Consider the flyball governor in this system. It senses the changes in speed of the turbine. If load is increased, the balls will slow down and will move inwards, moving point B upwards. Now, this will open some additional valves to allow more fuel. What is the role of speed changer in this? Basically, what is a speed changer? How is reference power set in the speed changer? Please explain.
    Also, is it correct that the primary ALFC loop (containing governor) is used to prevent sudden changes in frequency and there remains some steady state error in frequency even after opening or closing the additional valves?

Thanks in advanve!

Last edited: Nov 15, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 15, 2016 #2

anorlunda

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'm glad to hear that you're studying it. First, let's clean up the nomenclature. Speed governors work inside one power plant. The central control for all the power plants in the region, used to be called LFC, later ALFC, and most modern AGC (for Automatic Generator Control).

Second, governors work with proportional control. That means that frequency error is proportional to power. The reciprocal of constant of proportionality is called droop. The classical value for droop was 5%. That means a 5% change in speed gives 100% change in power, or a gain of 20:1 per unit power / per unit speed.