Calculating Mass Percent of Aluminum in a Sample Using Ideal Gas Law

In summary, the conversation discusses finding the mass percent of Al in a sample by reacting it with HCl and measuring the amount of H2 produced. After some confusion and incorrect calculations, it is determined that the sample contained 4.16 g of Al, which corresponds to a mass percent of 82.4%.
RaamGeneral
Please don't ignore the template.
Hello, sorry to bother again.

A sample containing Al reacts with an aqueous solution of 5.05 g HCl producing 5.70 L of H2 at 20°C and 742 mmHg.
Find the mass percent of Al in the sample assuming hydrogen behaves like an ideal gas.I can't again understand this exercise, because I've never done any like this before.
The only reaction I know involving aluminium and HCl is:
[tex]\mathrm{2Al+6HCl \to 2AlCl_3 + 3H_2}[/tex]
but it doesn't seem useful.

I calculated 0.139 mol of Al and 0.231 mol of H2 using the ideal gas law.

I can't see any clue about my sample though.

Physics news on Phys.org
Your number of moles of hydrogen is correct, yet you managed to miscalculate the amount of Al.

As worded question can't be solved, and it is self contradicting - you can't produce 0.231 moles of hydrogen using 5.05 grams of HCl. My bet is 5.05 g is a mass of the Al sample. Would it help?

My bad, what a mess: I meant 0.139 mol of HCl. But let's forget about this because your bet is correct: I saw again the text of the exercise and I didn't noticed a comma, it was 5.05 g of the sample containing Al (not only it).

Nevertheless I'm not able to understand the exercise yet: HCl reacts with this sample producing H2. The reaction I wrote earlier doesn't seem useful here.
I don't know how much HCl reacts because I don't know the substances involved in the reaction and so the stoichiometric coefficients.

It will be wrong, but my interpretation of the problem is this:

[tex] \mathrm{HCl+X...Al_n \to Y+H_2} [/tex]Thank you for your answer.