Different kinds of Kinetic energy

In summary, kinetic energy is the energy of motion and can take on different forms such as vibrational, rotational, and translational. These forms refer to different types of motion within a system. The internal energy and average kinetic energy per molecule can both be represented by the equation \frac{3}{2}k_{b}T, as they are both related to the kinetic and potential energies of molecules within the system. The terms mole, molecule, molar mass, and mass of molecules can be defined using equations such as n=\frac{N}{N_{A}} and m*N_{A}=M. The equation KE=\Delta U=W can be used interchangeably, but not conceptually, as they all relate to the energy
AznBoi
I'm studying thermodynamics and I've come across different types of KE's in the motion of molecules within gases. What is "translational kinetic energy?" Is "rotational kinetic energy" just the rotational movement of the molecules?

Physics news on Phys.org
"Kinetic energy is the energy of motion. An object which has motion - whether it be vertical or horizontal motion - has kinetic energy. There are many forms of kinetic energy - vibrational (the energy due to vibrational motion), rotational (the energy due to rotational motion), and translational (the energy due to motion from one location to another)."

You can find that information anywhere on the internet. Just search Google.

husky88 said:
"Kinetic energy is the energy of motion. An object which has motion - whether it be vertical or horizontal motion - has kinetic energy. There are many forms of kinetic energy - vibrational (the energy due to vibrational motion), rotational (the energy due to rotational motion), and translational (the energy due to motion from one location to another)."

You can find that information anywhere on the internet. Just search Google.