Having a problem in steps while solving integrals

• Thread starter prakhargupta3301
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Integrals
In summary, the homework equations state that x_x is a function of x and k, and that a=dv/dt and v=dx/dt. The attempted solution is that a=dv/dt⋅dt/dx, and that v=dx/dt when v is limited to a range between 2u and u.
prakhargupta3301

Homework Statement

The problem is attached. I'm new to these problems (calculus).
I'm not getting my answer as any of the options. I need your help to know whether me or the slide is wrong.
?temp_hash=12720349bd7b2b5fb6e9c4da92df3e15.png

Homework Equations

x_x[/B]

The Attempt at a Solution

IMG_20180619_034801.jpg

Thank you for reading.

Attachments

• cloc.PNG
    cloc.PNG
    51.8 KB · Views: 407
  • IMG_20180619_034801.jpg
    IMG_20180619_034801.jpg
    23.7 KB · Views: 262
  • ?temp_hash=12720349bd7b2b5fb6e9c4da92df3e15.png
    ?temp_hash=12720349bd7b2b5fb6e9c4da92df3e15.png
    51.8 KB · Views: 580
Physics news on Phys.org
What is ∫v.dv?

Likes prakhargupta3301
The slide is wrong in that x is not constant, k is constant. Your formulation is correct up to ∫ v dv as pointed out by haruspex.

Likes prakhargupta3301
haruspex said:
What is ∫v.dv?
It is an equation to solve kinematic equations.
a=dv/dt 1
v=dx/dt 2
Divide 1 by 2
a/v= dv/dt⋅dt/dx
a/v=dv/dx
a⋅dx=v⋅dv
Integrate LHS and RHS and you get 3rd equation of motion:
0x∫a⋅dx=uv∫v⋅dv
a⋅x0x=v2|uv
ax-0=v2/2-u2/2
2ax=v2-u2

Dr Dr news said:
The slide is wrong in that x is not constant, k is constant. Your formulation is correct up to ∫ v dv as pointed out by haruspex.
So, am I correct or not ? This was quite an ambiguous reply..
If not, can you point out the mistake clearly and correction. Please?

Your LHS (2/3) k^2 x^(3/2) is OK the RHS as you have corrected is v^2 / 2 with an upper limit of 2u and a lower limit of u.

Likes prakhargupta3301
prakhargupta3301 said:
=uv∫v⋅dv...=v2|uv