Thermistor on Motor Control Board

In summary: Thermistor is used to protect against an unsafe condition?In summary, the Thermistor resistor is used as a protection circuit in case the treadmill pulls too many amps and starts to overheat.
MacLaddy
Gold Member
I work for a company which performs repairs on exercise equipment. One of my biggest problems is a constant failure of a Thermistor resistor on a certain brand treadmills motor control board. I am guessing poor design, but I am hoping somebody can clear up exactly what a thermistor resistor is for. I wiki'ed it, and I realize that it is a resistor which changes it's values according to temperature, but I don't understand why that would need to be applied.

These little junk Thermistors are a headache, and I would love to figure out a work-around. They are constantly frying, and they are placed right next to a fuse on this board. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

I am not an electrical engineer, engineer, or even an eng; :confused: so laymen terms will be very much appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
It will be tough to recommend a workaround without knowing what the thermistor is for. I would be especially hesitant to recommend something because thermistors are often used in safety circuits and I would hate to recommend bypassing some safety measure.

Perhaps it is failing because there is an unsafe condition with the treadmill!
Which leads to the next question: Are you sure it is the thermistor failing that is the root cause? Perhaps something else is damaged and that in turn cause the thermistor to fail.

If many treadmills are all failing in the same way it is likely a bad design or perhaps some component of the treadmill is outside of its lifetime. Does the manufacturer have any recommendations or insights?

es1 said: