Understanding Special Relativity on a Geometric and Intuitive Level

In summary, the subject expert has a bachelor's degree in physics and has gotten an A in an undergraduate special relativity course. He does not feel that he fully understands the subject, but he can do the problems in special relativity which require the various formulas involved in the subject and he even understands the traveling twin paradox where one twin ages less due to his acceleration. He still does not have an intuitive grasp of the subject, and he needs to look at the geometry and not just the equations to really understand the theory. The subject expert says that if time is a dimension similar to space in the same way that an interval is similar to a length (similar, but an interval can only get larger and not smaller with time
MetaMusic
So here's the deal guys: I have a bachelor's in physics and have gotten an A in an undergraduate special relativity course but I do not feel that I fully understand the subject.

I can do the problems in special relativity which require the various formulas involved in the subject and I even understand the traveling twin paradox where one twin ages less due to his acceleration.

Still I don't have an intuitive grasp of the subject. I've come to figure out that to really understand the theory you need to look at the geometry and not just the equations. So far I understand this:

If time is a dimension similar to space in the same way that an interval is similar to a length (similar, but an interval can only get larger and not smaller with time since it is abstracted from direction), then a time axis and a spatial axis can be rotated around one of the other spatial dimensions and when we do this we find that the time axes from the two reference frames differ and the slope between them is seen by us as relative velocity.