Electronic Noise General Questions - Laboratory Setting

In summary, the conversation involves an undergraduate student working on optimizing an optical rotation magnetometer system for use in magnetic field calculations in a research lab. The student has questions about electrical noise and ways to eliminate it, specifically at the 60 Hz frequency. Possible sources of noise, such as room lighting and power supply ripple, are discussed and suggestions are given for reducing noise through shielding and proper wiring techniques. The conversation ends with the student thanking for the helpful insights and planning to conduct further diagnostic procedures to identify the source of the noise.
MxwllsPersuasns
Hello all,

I'm an undergraduate at a large research university in Massachusetts working in a lab where my group contributes to the Muon g-2 experiment at Fermilab in chicago. Essentially what I'm working on is optimizing an optical rotation (Faraday) magnetometer system for use in magnetic field calculations of timescales on the order microseconds (particle decay) and had a few general questions I was hoping some of you might be able to help me with.