Need Guidance in a Chemistry Related Project

In summary, the student is looking for suggestions for a project and a nudge in the general direction of what to research. He is interested in researching chemical reactions that occur in the brain, water, and nanotechnology. He is unsure of what to do the project on and is looking for something simpler. He is also looking for help clarifying questions surrounding the project.
roym6
Hello,
I am a student with a chemistry project. However, I am not quite sure what I would like to do the project on. I am fairly ignorant when it comes the recent findings and happenings of the chemistry world. Some of my areas of interest would be biochemical, nuclear, and energy related fields. However, I should probably tell you my prompt :D

-The project should use science publications/journals
-The project must focus on chemistry, deviation will result in loss of points
-Presentation should be 15 minutes long and have an introduction as well as a discussion of the specifics

Basically, what I'm asking for are some suggestions for a project and a nudge in the general direction(links to journals and publishings).

One of my first ideas was to research chemical reactions that occur in the brain, but I wasn't able to find many articles that went into detail as well as my lack of in-depth knowledge on the workings of the brain. So I'm looking for something a bit simpler, unless someone can point me to some articles and help clear up the questions that I have.

If you need me to clear up questions surrounding the project please feel free to ask.

PS I didn't know if this could be posted in the Chemistry forum so I posted in the HW help section. If a moderator could please move it to the correct location if this is not it, it would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
This is for a college class, yes? If so, your school has access to, say, Gaussian? If so, you could do a computational project. Those are very approachable.