Net Ionic Equations: How to Write and Balance Them

• Thread starter oceanflavored
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ionic Net
In summary, the conversation is about studying for an AP Chemistry exam and reviewing net ionic equations. The question arises about writing out 2HF in the ionic equation and whether it should be written as 2H+ (aq) and 2F- (aq). The answer is that HF does not dissociate completely in water and therefore exists as HF molecules instead of ions. The conversation ends with the person thanking the expert for their help.

who's excited for summmerrrr?

• Total voters
oceanflavored
i'm studying for my apchem exam. and rightnow; I'm currently reviewing my net ionic equations. but there's something I'm confused about in my ap chem book.

Homework Statement

the equation is:
CaF2 (aq) + 2HCl (aq) ---> 2HF (aq) + CaCl2 (aq)
and then the book says that the ionic equation is:
Ca2+ (aq) + 2F- (aq) + 2H+ (aq) + 2Cl- (aq) --> 2HF (aq) + Ca2+ (aq) + 2Cl (aq)

i understand when there's a solid (precipitate) you don't write it all out. because it doesn't dissolve. but wouldn't you write 2HF all out, as in you would write: 2H+ (aq) and 2F- (aq), or is there some other rule that i don't know about??

thanks to anyone who can help. i'd appreciate ittt :)

Physics news on Phys.org
come on guysssss.you can do this.
i believeeeee.

this is a method of extracting hydrofluoric acid! whereby CaF2 is an ore known as fluorite...well coming back to your problem...

As you know, acids exist as molecules in pure state. but when added to water... they dissociate.

e.g. HCl <------> H* + Cl-

HCl dissociates completely (or so) in aqueous mediem i.e water... and so, exists as H* and Cl-

but HF does not dissociate completely. it has a very much lower tendency to ionise in water...and therefore exists mainly as HF molecules instead of H* and Cl-... it's all about ionic equillibrium... in which I'm not very expert!

hope to have helped you

oh okayy. thanks.
that helps a lottt :)